January 22, 2020
  • 2:34 pm Committee Leadership Comes into Focus for 116th Congress
  • 2:22 pm Interstate System Report Calls for More Funding, Tolling, VMT Fees, and Cybersecurity
  • 2:15 pm In Memoriam: President George H. W. Bush, ISTEA, and Transportation
  • 1:56 pm Growth Projected for Transportation Projects, but Costs a Challenge
  • 1:35 pm FAA Reshuffles Executives, Plans Drone Identification Rulemaking in Spring 2019
  • 1:28 pm Predictive Technology Helps Reduce Crashes on I-15 Corridor in Las Vegas
  • 1:14 pm Video Report: MoDOT Produces Multi-Lingual Safety Message
  • 1:11 pm PennDOT Nears Completion of Rapid Bridge Replacement Project
  • 1:08 pm Infrastructure Grants Awarded to “Smaller” South Dakota Communities
  • 12:29 pm USDOT Stresses Need to Reserve 5.9 GHz Channel at TRB
  • 12:27 pm USDOT’s Chao Highlights New Vehicle Safety Initiatives at TRB
  • 12:19 pm State DOTs Renew Focus on Ways to Reduce Traffic Fatalities
  • 12:13 pm State DOT Roundtable Highlights Asset Management Needs
  • 12:06 pm USDOT Preps $906M Worth of INFRA Funding for FY 2020

The White House re-filed several nominations for transportation-related posts made during the 115th Congress who remained unconfirmed by the Senate following the close of that session. Meanwhile, in the House of Representatives, Democrat and Republican rosters were set for the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure

The Trump administration submitted in excess of 100 nominations on Jan. 16 for consideration during the 116th Congress, which included several key transportation posts:

  • Thelma Drake to be Administrator of the Federal Transit Administration.
  • Diana Furchtgott-Roth to be an Assistant Secretary of Transportation.
  • Heidi King to be Administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
  • Michelle Schultz to be a member of the Surface Transportation Board for a five-year term.
  • Rick Dearborn, Joseph Ryan Gruters, and Leon Westmoreland to be directors on Amtrak’s board, each for a five-year term.
  • Alan Cobb and William McDermott to be members of the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority board of directors for terms expiring November 22, 2023 and May 30, 2024, respectively.

In Congress, House T&I Committee Chair Rep. Peter DeFazio, R-Ore., announced that 16 new members would be joining 20 returning members on the Democrat’s roster.

Rep. Peter DeFazio

“The Transportation and Infrastructure Committee has a long history of working in a bipartisan way to get things done for the American people,” said Rep. DeFazio in a statement on Jan. 16. “We are adding to that history by selecting Democratic members who are diverse, dedicated, innovative, and ready to roll up their sleeves. There is no shortage of work to be done, but I have no doubt our new and returning members are up to the challenge to meet the needs of the American people.”

Rep. Sam Graves

Ranking Member Rep. Sam Graves, R-Mo., followed with the list of the T&I Committee’s Republican members, as well as the list of subcommittee ranking members on Jan. 17.

“Infrastructure is a major national priority for the President and the Congress, and I believe this is an issue on which we can find common ground,” said Rep. Graves in a statement.  “I am excited to welcome our new and returning Republican Members to the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.  I know they come ready to work and want to get something done for our country’s infrastructure.”


%d bloggers like this: