January 24, 2020
  • 2:34 pm Committee Leadership Comes into Focus for 116th Congress
  • 2:22 pm Interstate System Report Calls for More Funding, Tolling, VMT Fees, and Cybersecurity
  • 2:15 pm In Memoriam: President George H. W. Bush, ISTEA, and Transportation
  • 1:56 pm Growth Projected for Transportation Projects, but Costs a Challenge
  • 1:35 pm FAA Reshuffles Executives, Plans Drone Identification Rulemaking in Spring 2019
  • 1:28 pm Predictive Technology Helps Reduce Crashes on I-15 Corridor in Las Vegas
  • 1:14 pm Video Report: MoDOT Produces Multi-Lingual Safety Message
  • 1:11 pm PennDOT Nears Completion of Rapid Bridge Replacement Project
  • 1:08 pm Infrastructure Grants Awarded to “Smaller” South Dakota Communities
  • 7:09 am House T&I Committee Criticizes FCC Effort to Open Up 5.9 GHz Spectrum
  • 12:29 pm USDOT Stresses Need to Reserve 5.9 GHz Channel at TRB
  • 12:27 pm USDOT’s Chao Highlights New Vehicle Safety Initiatives at TRB
  • 12:19 pm State DOTs Renew Focus on Ways to Reduce Traffic Fatalities
  • 12:13 pm State DOT Roundtable Highlights Asset Management Needs

There are two weeks left for state departments of transportation to submit nominations for the 2019 America’s Transportation Awards.

States may nominate up to three projects in the competition in the categories of: Operations Excellence, Best Use of Technology & Innovation, and Quality of Life/Community Development. States looking to complete a nomination form may do so by going here.

All nominated projects will first compete on a regional level against projects of their own size– Small (projects costing less than $25 million), Medium (projects between $25 million and $199 million) or Large (projects $200 million or more).

Once all regional meetings have taken place over this summer, the three highest scoring projects from each region will be named the “Top 12” and will go on to compete for the top two national prizes.

The Grand Prize is selected by a panel of judges, while the People’s Choice Award is decided by online popular vote, with the winners each receiving $10,000 to donate to a charity or scholarship of their choice.

As with 2018 competition, voting will be scaled to state populations to determine the winner and allow smaller states to compete more fairly.

Only state DOTs are eligible for this competition and nominated projects must have been completed between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31 of 2018.

For more information, please visit AmericasTransportationAwards.org. For questions about the competition, please reach out to Maggie Kasperski, marketing and communications manager, at mkasperski@aashto.org, or Kaitlyn Meuser, marketing specialist, at kmeuser@aashto.org.


%d bloggers like this: