January 22, 2020
  • 2:34 pm Committee Leadership Comes into Focus for 116th Congress
  • 2:22 pm Interstate System Report Calls for More Funding, Tolling, VMT Fees, and Cybersecurity
  • 2:15 pm In Memoriam: President George H. W. Bush, ISTEA, and Transportation
  • 1:56 pm Growth Projected for Transportation Projects, but Costs a Challenge
  • 1:35 pm FAA Reshuffles Executives, Plans Drone Identification Rulemaking in Spring 2019
  • 1:28 pm Predictive Technology Helps Reduce Crashes on I-15 Corridor in Las Vegas
  • 1:14 pm Video Report: MoDOT Produces Multi-Lingual Safety Message
  • 1:11 pm PennDOT Nears Completion of Rapid Bridge Replacement Project
  • 1:08 pm Infrastructure Grants Awarded to “Smaller” South Dakota Communities
  • 12:29 pm USDOT Stresses Need to Reserve 5.9 GHz Channel at TRB
  • 12:27 pm USDOT’s Chao Highlights New Vehicle Safety Initiatives at TRB
  • 12:19 pm State DOTs Renew Focus on Ways to Reduce Traffic Fatalities
  • 12:13 pm State DOT Roundtable Highlights Asset Management Needs
  • 12:06 pm USDOT Preps $906M Worth of INFRA Funding for FY 2020

Margaret Anderson Kelliher (above at right), commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Transportation, and Toks Omishakin (above at left), director of the California Department of Transportation, have been appointed to chair two separate American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials committees. Both will serve two-year terms.

Margaret Anderson Kelliher

Anderson Kelliher will serve as chair of the Committee on Environment and Sustainability, which promotes resource stewardship through sustainable practices, develops programs and initiatives to streamline the environmental review and permitting processes, and ensures inclusive community engagement.

The committee monitors, analyzes and develops policy recommendations related to environmental laws, regulations, and guidance. It also guides and supports the work of the Center for Environmental Excellence by AASHTO and the Environmental Technical Assistance Program or ETAP.

Toks Omishakin will serve as chair of the Council on Active Transportation, which addresses issues related to bicycles and pedestrians, improving access to transit, and other active transport modes.

Toks Omishakin at left.

It also broadly communicates the value of active transportation to the transportation system, the environment and communities, monitors and provides input on federal policies, and supports active transportation forums for knowledge transfer and general capacity building for member departments.

Omishakin previously served as the council’s vice chair and replaces longtime chair Leslie Richards, the former secretary of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, who is becoming general manager of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority in January.



%d bloggers like this: