October 4, 2023
  • 10:49 am New Home on the Web for the AASHTO Journal
  • 12:07 pm Buttigieg Defends USDOT FY 2024 Budget at Hearing
  • 12:01 pm AASHTO Offers Robust Program for 2023 Spring Meeting
  • 11:58 am Will ‘Happiness’ Be the Next Key Transportation Metric?
  • 11:54 am FTA Plans to Beef up Transit Worker Protections

The April 23 nomination deadline for the 2021 America’s Transportation Awards is fast approaching.

[Above photo of 2020 Grand Prize Winner WSDOT. Photo by WSDOT.]

This yearly competition helps showcase why transportation infrastructure – and why properly funding it – is vital to supporting the nation’s economy while improving the quality of life for communities across the country.

States can nominate up to three projects for this annual contest. To submit a nomination, click here.

Sponsored by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the competition serves as a way to recognize state departments of transportation and highlights the projects they deliver that make their communities a better place to live, work, and play.

[The video below highlights the “Top 12” finalists in the 2020 America’s Transportation Awards contest.]

Project nominations fall into one of three categories: Operations Excellence, Best Use of Technology & Innovation, and Quality of Life/Community Development.

All nominated projects will first compete on a regional level against projects of their own size: “Small” (projects costing less than $25 million), “Medium” (projects between $25 million and $199 million) or “Large” (projects $200 million or more).

Photo by New Hampshire DOT

Projects first compete in four regional contests overseen by four regional associations – the Northeast Association of State Transportation Officials (NASTO), the Mid America Association of State Transportation Officials (MAASTO), the Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (WASHTO), and the Southern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (SASHTO) – with winners announced later this summer.

The three highest scoring projects from each region then become the “Top 12” competitors 2021 America’s Transportation Awards contest and go on to battle for two national prizes: The Grand Prize, selected by a panel of judges, and the People’s Choice Award, decided by online voting.

AASHTO will announced the winners of the 2021 America’s Transportation Awards program at its 2021 Annual Meeting this fall, with each winner receiving $10,000 to donate to a charity or scholarship of their choice.


%d bloggers like this: