December 7, 2023
  • 10:49 am New Home on the Web for the AASHTO Journal
  • 12:07 pm Buttigieg Defends USDOT FY 2024 Budget at Hearing
  • 12:01 pm AASHTO Offers Robust Program for 2023 Spring Meeting
  • 11:58 am Will ‘Happiness’ Be the Next Key Transportation Metric?
  • 11:54 am FTA Plans to Beef up Transit Worker Protections

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has appointed two new vice chairs to its Committee on Maintenance or COM.

Photo by MoDOT

AASHTO’s COM develops, maintains, and disseminates appropriate information through guidelines, manuals, specifications, and other resources, to address the maintenance, preservation, and operation of all classes of highways and categories of assets that are under the jurisdiction of the member departments.

That includes bridges, equipment, pavements, roadways, roadsides, maintenance operations, and winter maintenance.

The committee also promotes improved management practices related to maintenance, preservation and operation; protect and enhance the quality of the environment; and foster collaboration and cooperative efforts with other AASHTO communities to accomplish these goals.

Anita Bush

The first COM vice chair appointment is Anita Bush, chief maintenance and asset management engineer for the Nevada Department of Transportation.

A graduate of the University of Nevada-Reno with a degree in civil engineering, Bush has served as Nevada DOT’s chief maintenance and asset management engineer for the past 11 years.

The second COM vice chair appointment is Rebecca “Becky” Allmeroth, chief safety and operations officer for the Missouri Department of Transportation.

Becky Allmeroth

A 23-year Missouri DOT veteran, Allmeroth started her career as a highway designer then transferred to the agency’s St. Louis District, where she worked in planning, federal aid, and traffic management.

She later became the state’s maintenance engineer in June 2015 before her appointment as chief safety and operations officer in 2019.

Allmeroth is a 1995 graduate of the University of Missouri-Rolla, now known as Missouri S&T.